The Clarke Prize

The Richard M. Clarke Prize for Leadership in Engineering Design

The Clarke Prize consists of several awards presented to student teams from the capstone engineering design courses at the University of Toronto. The prizes are awarded to teams on the basis of outstanding work in four categories: leadership, teamwork, engineering design and environmental thought. The Clarke Prize funding provides up to $25,000 per year for awards to student teams.

First Prize:       $10,000
Runner-up:      $5,000
Category prizes for each of the four categories: $2500

These awards are made possible by a generous donation from Richard M. Clarke, CHEM 5T4. Please take a moment to read about his vision and achievements, here.

The first year of the Clarke Prize, 2017-18, will be a trial year involving only the teams from APS490 the multi-disciplinary capstone.  In subsequent years, capstone design teams from all disciplines across the Faculty including the multidisciplinary capstone will be eligible provided there is agreement with the sponsoring department and the capstone course coordinators.

Details outlining the application process are available here.

Clarke Prize Timeline, Winter Term 2018

March 16Intent to Apply Registration Due3:00 PM
April 6Applications Due 3:00 PM
April 11Finalists Announced3:00 PM
April 21Showcase9:30 AM - 1:30 PM

Steering Committee, Winter Term 2018

  • Professor Doug Reeve (Chair)
  • Professor Patricia Sheridan
  • Professor Alison Olechowski

Administration of the Clarke Prize will be the responsibility of the Director of ILead with approval from the Dean of the Faculty. The selection process will include judging by experts, and will culminate in April with public presentations made by the finalists.

For further information please contact: