The Clarke Prize

The Richard M. Clarke Prize for Leadership in Engineering Design – 2019-20

The Clarke Prize recognizes outstanding student teams registered in capstone engineering design courses at the University of Toronto. Prizes are awarded to teams on the basis of excellence in four categories: leadership, teamwork, engineering design and environmental impact analysis. The Clarke Prize funding provides up to $25,000 per year for awards.

First Prize:       $10,000
Runner-up:      $5,000
Category prizes for each of the four categories: $2,500

These awards are made possible by a generous donation from Richard M. Clarke, CHEM 5T4. Please take a moment to read about his vision and achievements here.

2019-20 is the third year of the Clarke Prize; capstone design teams from all disciplines across the Faculty including the multidisciplinary capstone are eligible, provided there is agreement with the sponsoring department and their capstone course coordinators.

Administration of the Clarke Prize is the responsibility of the Director of Troost ILead with approval from the Dean of the Faculty. The selection process includes judging by experts, and culminates in April each year with public presentations made by the finalists and critical questioning by the judges.

For news of the 2019 awardees please see here. The Clarke Prize Awards History is available here.

Clarke Prize Timeline, 2019-20

March 9Notice of Intent to Apply Due3:00 PM
March 23Applications Due 3:00 PM
April 3Finalists Announced3:00 PM
April 13Finalists’ Showcase and JudgingTBA

Steering Committee, 2019-20

  • Professor Doug Reeve (Chair)
  • Professor Patricia Sheridan
  • Professor Alison Olechowski
  • Natalia Noël Smith

Details outlining the application process are available here.

For further information please contact: